the coffee will get cold

lexi ୨୧
1 min readSep 6, 2024

--

Throughout my life, I have consistently struggled with the toxic trait of procrastination. Whether it’s assignments due tomorrow or simple tasks like cleaning my room, I used to think, "I will do it when it feels right."

Now that I am older, I have realized how precious time is. I’ve realized how much you can accomplish in just one minute or how many tasks you can complete if you just get up.

Don’t wait until it feels right. Do it uncomfortable. Do it now.

Don’t wait for tomorrow. Don’t wait for next Monday. Don’t say “I will do it later.”

Because sooner or later, the coffee will get cold. It will not taste the same way again. The sweetness will soon evaporate into thin air. Later, it becomes a graveyard of everything you could’ve done. Later, the coffee will taste bland, and you will feel an enormous amount of regret.

Choose now. Choose today. So what if you don’t know how to start? You can learn anything as you try to every day. Give it all your heart. Don’t let it wait. Don’t put your dreams on hold. Don’t put your tasks on a pedestal.

Because later, the coffee will get cold.

-A.L ౨ৎ ⋆。˚

--

--

lexi ୨୧

"But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for” - John Keating, Dead Poets Society